ASCAC Inquiries...

Email: ascr@science.doe.gov
Phone: 301-903-7486

Mrs. Christine Chalk

Mrs. Melea Baker
Dr. Lucy Nowell

Dr. Roscoe C. Giles

J. Steve Binkley

The Advanced Scientific Computing Advisory Committee (ASCAC), established on August 12, 1999, provides valuable, independent advice to the Department of Energy on a variety of complex scientific and technical issues related to its Advanced Scientific Computing Research program. ASCAC's recommendations include advice on long-range plans, priorities, and strategies to address more effectively the scientific aspects of advanced scientific computing including the relationship of advanced scientific computing to other scientific disciplines, and maintaining appropriate balance among elements of the program. The Committee, which formally reports to the Director, Office of Science, primarily includes representatives of universities, national laboratories, and industries involved in advanced computing research. Particular attention is paid to obtaining a diverse membership with a balance among scientific disciplines, institutions, and geographic regions. ASCAC operates in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA, Public Law 92-463; 92nd Congress, H.R. 4383; October 6, 1972) and all applicable Amendments, Federal Regulations and Executive Orders. For more information about the applicability of FACA see this link. Notices of upcoming ASCAC meetings are provided in the Federal Register at least two weeks before the scheduled date of the meeting.


Last modified: 3/20/2015 3:44:14 AM