ASCR Leadership Computing Challenge (ALCC)

ALCC Past Awards

Past awards

Fact sheets

Congratulations to our 2014 Awardees

For 2014, 42 awards were made totaling over 3 billion processor hours. ALCC awars support scientific and technological research in fields spanning Bioenergy, Engine Efficiency, Turbomachinery Design, Fusion Energy Sciences, High Energy Physics, Materials Science, Nuclear Physics, Nuclear Reactor Safety, Climate Modeling, and Seismology. The following proposals received awards:

  • David Baker from University of Washington received 200,000,000 processor hours for “Applying Breakthroughs in Protein Structure Calculation to the Creation of Designer Enzymes”
  • Martin Berzins from the University of Utah received 40,000,000 processor hours for “Large Scale Turbulent Clean Coal Combustion”
  • Igor A. Bolotnov from NCSU received 76,8000,000 processor hours for “Turbulent Multiphase Flows for Nuclear Reactor Safety”
  • Ron Brightwell from SNL received 40,000,000 processor hours for “Hobbes: Operating System and Runtime Research for Extreme Scale”
  • Peter Cocks from UTRC received 20,000,000 processor hours for “High Fidelity Simulations of Combustion Approaches with Increased Efficiency and Reduced Emissions”
  • Gregory Davidson from ORNL received 50,000,000 processor hours for “Advanced Simulation of HFIR for LEU Conversion”
  • Robert DiStasio from Princeton University received 350,000,000 processor hours for “Ion Solvation, Catalytic Interfaces, and Extreme Aqueous Environments: An Ab Initio Study of Liquid Water”
  • Robert Edwards from Jefferson Laboratory received 250,000,000 processor hours for “The Spectrum and Properties of Exotic Mesons in Quantum Chromodynamics”
  • D.R. Ernst from MIT received 30,000,000 processor hours for “Gyrokinetic Simulations of the Effect of Electron Heating on Particle and Electron Thermal Energy Transport in Magnetic Fusion Plasmas”
  • Charles Finney from ORNL/FORD received 17,500,000 processor hours for “Simulating Cyclic Variability in Dilute Internal Combustion Engine Operation”
  • Benjamin Gaddy from NCSU received 7,000,000 processor hours for “Controlling Conductivity In High-Al content AlGaN by Understanding Defect Formation Energies via DFT”
  • Aytekin Gel from ALPEMI received 37,500,000 processor hours for “Uncertainty Quantification in Coal Gasifier Simulations For Clean Energy Technology Development and Production”
  • Salman Habib from ANL received 176,000,000 processor hours for “Cosmic Frontier Computational End-Station”
  • Itay Hen from University of Southern California received 45,000,000 processor hours for “Quantum Computational Science”
  • Christopher Holland from University of California, San Diego received 140,000,000 processor hours for “Validation Studies of Gyrokinetic Simulations to Understand the Coupling of Ion and Electron Scale Turbulence in Tokamak Plasmas”
  • Christine Hrenya from U. Colorado received 15,000,000 processor hours for “Simulating Multiphase Heat Transfer in a Novel Receiver for Concentrating Solar Power (CSP) Plants”
  • Andreas Kemp from LLNL received 30,000,000 processor hours for “Laser-driven Relativistic Electron Beam Filamentation in Solids”
  • Gabriel Kotliar from Rutgers University received 90,000,000 processor hours for “Calculation of Neutron Scattering Cross Section of Plutonium and its Compounds”
  • Julius Kuti from UCSD received 88,700,000 processor hours for “Composite Higgs Theory Beyond the Standard Model and the 14 TeV upgrade of the Large Hadron Collider”
  • Thomas LeCompte from ANL received 52,000,000 processor hours for “Simulation of Large Hadron Collider Events Using Leadership Computing”
  • Sanjiva Lele from Stanford University received 36,500,000 processor hours for “Amplitude Modulation of Wind Turbine Noise”
  • Ruby Leung from PNNL received 18,000,000 processor hours for “Multi-scale Water Cycle Processes in Climate Change: Sensitivity to Modeling Frameworks”
  • Zhihong Lin from UC Irvine received 50,000,000 processor hours for “Gyrokinetic Simulation of Energetic Particle Turbulence and Transport.”
  • Keh-Fei Liu from U. Kentucky received 68,800,000 processor hours for “Quark and Glue Structure of the Nucleon with Lattice QCD”
  • Noa Marom from Tulane University received 105,000,000 processor hours for “Interfaces in Organic and Hybrid Photovoltaics”
  • Elia Merzari from ANL received 80,000,000 processor hours for “Petascale Simulations in Support of CESAR”
  • Parviz Moin from Stanford University received 120,000,000 processor hours for “Predictive Large-Eddy Simulation of Jet Fuel Atomization, High-Lift Airframes and Reacting Supersonic Turbulent Flows on Unstructured Grids”
  • Hassan Nagib from Illinois Institute of Technology received 11,000,000 processor hours for “Understanding secondary motions and their impact in modeling turbulent flows”
  • Joseph C. Oefelein from SNL received 75,000,000 processor hours for “Development of High-Fidelity Multiphase Combustion Models for Large Eddy Simulation of Advanced Engine Systems”
  • Chongle Pan from ORNL received 25,000,000 processor hours for “Computational Analysis of Complex Proteogenomics Data for Characterization of Terrestrial Carbon Turnover by Soil Microbial Communities”
  • Barbara Romanowicz from UC Berkley received 6,000,000 processor hours for “Application of Numerical Time-reversal Mirror for the Construction of Continental Scale Tomographic Model of the Upper Mantle Based on Full Waveform Seismic Inversion”
  • Martin Savage from Institute for Nuclear Theory received 65,100,000 processor hours for “Hypernuclei and Charmed Nuclei”
  • Klaus Schulten from University of Illionois at Urbana-Champaign received 69,000,000 processor hours for “Molecular Dynamics Studies of Biomass Degradation in Biofuel Production”
  • Jeremy Smith from ORNL received 59,000,000 processor hours for “Molecular Simulation in Bioenergy”
  • Ravi Srinivasan from Ramgent Power Systems , LLC received 16,600,000 hours for “Supersonic Compression & Engine Technology: time-Varying Phenomena & Geometric Optimization”
  • Kuo Tang-Wei from GM received 15,000,000 processor hours for “Multi-hole Injector Optimization for Spark-ignited Direct-injection Gasoline Engines”
  • Aidan Thompson from SNL received 80,000,000 processor hours for “Nanostructure-enhanced Chemical Reactivity and Detonation in Energetic Materials”
  • Peter Thornton from ORNL received 137,000,000 processor hours for “Delivering the Department of Energy's Next-generation High-resolution Earth System Model”
  • David Trebotich from LBNL received 100,000,000 processor hours for “Chombo-Crunch: Modeling Pore Scale Reactive Transport Processes Associated with Carbon Sequestration”
  • Giancarlo Trimarchi from Northwestern University received 30,000,000 processor hours for “Prediction and Design of Energy Materials by Petascale Evolutionary Algorithm Simulations”
  • John Turner from ORNL received 100,000,000 processor hours for “Delivering Advanced Modeling & Simulation for Nuclear Energy Applications”
  • Gregory Voth from U. Chicago / ANL received 57,600,000 processor hours for “Influence of Morhphology on Proton Transport in Proton Exchange Membranes”
  • Harel Weinstein from Cornell Univ received 10,000,000 processor hours for “Energy Coupling in Membrane Protein Function: Mechanisms of Na+-coupled Transporters and Effects of Their Environment”
  • Brian Wirth from University of Tennessee received 96,000,000 processor hours for “Understanding Helium Plasma Mediated Tungsten Surface Response to Better Predict Fusion Plasma Facing Component Performance in ITER”
Last modified: 7/21/2014 8:45:46 AM