Featured Content


Argonne-Developed Technology for Achieving Superlubricity Wins 2016 Techconnect National Innovation AwardExternal link

On May 22, the new lubrication technology received a TechConnect National Innovation Award at TechConnect’s annual World Innovation Conference and Expo, a gathering that allows inventors to present their work to potential funders and commercial partners. The TechConnect Innovation Awards select the top early-stage innovations from around the world through an industry-review process of the top 15% of annually submitted technologies into the TechConnect National Innovation Summit.

College of Computing Mourns Loss of Regents’ Professor Karsten SchwanExternal link

Professor Karsten Schwan

The late Karsten Schwan, an ASCR researcher, has been posthumously elected a Fellow of the IEEE "for contributions to high-performance, real-time and virtualized computing systems." The election was conducted at this month's IEEE Board of Directors meeting and will become effective Jan. 1, 2016.

From IEEE: "The IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the IEEE Board of Directors upon a person with an outstanding record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The total number selected in any one year cannot exceed one-tenth of one- percent of the total voting membership. IEEE Fellow is the highest grade of membership and is recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honor and an important career achievement."

CSGF Alumna Sarah Richardson Receives L'Oreal FellowshipExternal link

Sarah Richardson

Sarah Richardson

Adding to her growing list of honors, DOE CSGF alumna Sarah Richardson has been named a recipient of a 2015 For Women in Science Fellowship from cosmetics maker L’Oréal USA. The award provides $60,000 for Sarah to advance her research at the Joint BioEnergy Institute at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Sarah is helping create tools to edit a bacterium's genetic instructions, programming it to produce useful substances like drugs or biofuels. The award also recognizes her outreach to minority and economically disadvantaged youths. She'll receive the award next week in Washington, D.C.

Request for Information (RFI) on Science Drivers Requiring Capable Exascale High Performance ComputingExternal link

This is a multi-agency request for information to identify scientific research topics and applications that need High Performance Computing (HPC) capabilities that extend 100 times beyond today’s performance on scientific applications.

BochevASCR Researcher Wins DOE's Lawrence Award

Dr. Pavel Bochev, a computational mathematician at Sandia National Laboratories, won the Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award for his pioneering theoretical and practical advances in numerical methods for partial differential equations.

Vis Career AwardASCR Researcher Wins Visualization Award

Professor Ken Joy of University of California at Davis was awarded the 2014 Technical Achievement Visualization Career Award, in recognition of foundational research in the mathematical representation of data for visualization and for service to the community. Professor Joy is a member of Scalable Data Management, Analysis and Visualization (SDAV) Institute supported by SciDAC.

ASCR researcher named AAAS FellowExternal link

Thomas Sterling, a computer scientist at Indiana University, has recently been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAA).

Bill Harrod Vanguard Award

Bill Harrod Accepts HPCExternal linkVanguard Award at SC14

In this videoExternal linkBill Harrod from the Department of Energy accepts the HPC Vanguard Award from Rich Brueckner and Thomas Sterling at SC14External link.

2015 INCITE Awards Announced

SEAB Report Released

A recent SEAB report describes new challenges for Exascale, adding additional complexity and constraints to mapping the exascale hardware architecture and software stack evolution to 2023 and beyond.

New ASCR Staff

Dr. Robinson E. Pino

Dr. Robinson E. Pino is a Computer Scientist and Program Manager for ASCR and will focus on revolutionary basic research and development efforts for high performance computing and applications that will enable our continued leadership through exascale and beyond computing and energy efficient technologies.


John Negele (MIT) Awarded Feshbach Prize

The Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics was established this year by the American Physical Society (APS) “To recognize and encourage outstanding research in theoretical nuclear physics.” More:

ASCR Researcher Wins Lifetime Scientific Acheivement Prize

Arie Shoshani, an ASCR supported researcher in scientific data management, recently was awarded the Berkeley Lab Prize -- a Lifetime Scientific Achievement Award.More:External link

Two ASCR Data Technologies Win R&D 100 Award

Widely recognized as a mark of excellence, the R&D 100 Awards are the only industry-wide competition rewarding the practical applications of science. Among the 2013 winners of this prestigious award are two ASCR developed technologies: ADIOSExternal link and OSCARSExternal link. OSCARS, the On-demand Secure Circuits and Reservation System, is a software service that creates dedicated bandwidth channels for scientists who need to move massive, time-critical data sets around the world - the development of which was led by the Department of Energy's ESnet (Energy Sciences Network). ADIOS is the Adaptable I/O System for Big Data, developed by a team of researchers from Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), Georgia Tech, and Rutgers University and supported by ASCR through both Computer Science and SciDAC. ADIOS is an I/O middleware package that has shown great promise helping codes scale up with improved performance.
R&D 100
ADIOS graph
Enlarge Image.jpg file (45KB)

Titan Tops "Top 500 List"

The Oak Ridge Leadership Computing Facilities new computer, Titan, has been crowned the world's fastest computer by the "Top 500External link".

For Articles on Titan, Click hereExternal link
Titan Super Computer

ASCR's ESnet Recognized


For the second time in four years, ESnet has been named one of the year’s top government IT innovators by Information Week Government magazine. MoreExternal link

Last modified: 8/1/2016 9:02:28 AM