Community Resources

BES and Congress

Congressional Foundations of the BES Program

Congress established the Basic Energy Sciences (BES) program through the following authorization legislations:

Atomic Energy Act of 1946 Public Law 79-585.pdf file (1.7MB) August 1, 1946 42 U.S.C. 1801 et seq.External link
Atomic Energy Act of 1954 Public Law 83-703.pdf file (866KB) August 30, 1954 42 U.S.C. 2011 et seq.External link
Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 Public Law 93-438.pdf file (866KB) October 11, 1974 42 U.S.C. 5801 et seq.External link
DOE Organization Act of 1977 Public Law 95-91External link August 4, 1977 42 U.S.C. 7101 et seq.External link
Energy Policy Act of 1992 Public Law 102-486External link October 24, 1992 42 U.S.C. 134 et seq.External link
Energy Policy Act of 2005 Public Law 109-58External link August 8, 2005 HR 6.pdf file (1.3MB)  |  HRpt 109-190.pdf file (1.6MB)

These laws created and promulgated the BES program, and annual appropriation laws provide funding and guidance for the program's activities. In the Congressional budget process, the BES program is governed by the four Congressional Committees shown in the table below. Each Committee contains a subcommittee that specifically considers the BES portion of the President's Budget Request. To hunt for additional legislative information on the internet, visit the Library of Congress' ThomasExternal link server.

Congressional Committees with responsibilities that include BES
Type of CommitteeHouse of RepresentativesExternal linkThe SenateExternal link
Appropriations Committee on AppropriationsExternal link Committee on AppropriationsExternal link


Energy and Water DevelopmentExternal link Energy and Water DevelopmentExternal link
Authorization Committee on Science and TechnologyExternal link Committee on Energy and
Natural ResourcesExternal link


Energy and EnvironmentExternal link EnergyExternal link
Last modified: 3/5/2016 8:01:26 PM