The scientific directions of the EFRCs are overseen by program staff in the Basic Energy Sciences program within the Office of Science to ensure a unified management strategy and structure. This BES EFRC management team includes program managers from each of the BES Divisions and acts in partnership with many other BES staff who have core research program responsibilities in related areas. Each EFRC has a principal point of contact on the BES EFRC management team, as indicated below. The EFRCs are, however, managed collectively by this team. Contact information for general questions about the EFRC program is provided below.

Mailing Address:

Energy Frontier Research Centers
Office of Basic Energy Sciences
SC-22/Kerry Hochberger/Germantown Building
U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, D.C. 20585-1290
301-903-3081 (voice)
301-903-6594 (fax)

Express Mail Address:

Energy Frontier Research Centers
SC-22/Kerry Hochberger
U.S. Department of Energy
19901 Germantown Road
Germantown, MD 20874
Phone: 301-903-3081
Directions for visiting BES

Dr Andrew Schwartz
Andy Schwartz
EFRC Team Lead
Robin L. Hayes
Robin L. Hayes
Coordination and Communication
Kerry Gorey
Kerry Hochberger
Program Support Specialist

  • Center for Electrochemical Energy Science (CEES)
    Paul Fenter, Argonne National Laboratory
  • NorthEast Center for Chemical Energy Storage (NECCES)
    M.Stanley Whittingham, Binghamton University
  • Breakthrough Electrolytes for Energy Storage (BEES)
    Robert Savinell, Case Western Reserve University
  • Center for Alkaline-Based Energy Solutions (CABES)
    Héctor Abruña, Cornell University
  • Fluid Interface Reactions, Structures and Transport Center (FIRST)
    Sheng Dai, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Center for Mesoscale Transport Properties (m2mt)
    Esther Takeuchi, Stony Brook University
  • Center for Synthetic Control Across Length-scales for Advancing Rechargeables (SCALAR)
    Sarah Tolbert, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Nanostructures for Electrical Energy Storage (NEES)
    Gary Rubloff, University of Maryland

  • Advanced Materials for Energy-Water Systems (AMEWS)
    Seth Darling, Argonne National Laboratory
  • The Center for Enhanced Nanofluidic Transport (CENT)
    Michael Strano, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Center for Mechanistic Control of Water-Hydrocarbon-Rock Interactions in Unconventional and Tight Oil Formations (CMC-UF)
    Anthony Kovscek, Stanford University
  • Center for Materials for Water and Energy Systems (M-WET)
    Benny Freeman, University of Texas at Austin
  • Multi-Scale Fluid-Solid Interactions in Architected and Natural Materials (MUSE)
    Darryl Butt, University of Utah

  • Center for Hybrid Organic Inorganic Semiconductors for Energy (CHOISE)
    Matthew Beard, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Center for Next Generation of Materials Design (CNGMD)
    William Tumas, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Center for Bio-Inspired Energy Science (CBES)
    Samuel Stupp, Northwestern University
  • Photonics at Thermodynamic Limits (PTL)
    Jennifer Dionne, Stanford University
  • A Next Generation Synthesis Center (GENESIS)
    John Parise, Stony Brook University
  • Center for Complex Materials from First Principles (CCM)
    John Perdew, Temple University
  • The Center for the Science of Synthesis Across Scales (CSSAS)
    François Baneyx, University of Washington

  • Center for the Advancement of Topological Semimetals (CATS)
    Robert McQueeney, Ames Laboratory
  • Programmable Quantum Materials (Pro-QM)
    Dmitri Basov, Columbia University
  • Institute for Quantum Matter (IQM)
    Collin Broholm, Johns Hopkins University
  • Center for Novel Pathways to Quantum Coherence in Materials (NPQC)
    Joel Moore, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Spins and Heat in Nanoscale Electronic Systems (SHINES)
    Jing Shi, University of California, Riverside
  • Quantum Materials for Energy Efficient Neuromorphic Computing (Q-MEEN-C)
    Ivan Schuller, University of California, San Diego
  • Center for Molecular Magnetic Quantum Materials (M2QM)
    Hai-Ping Cheng, University of Florida


  • Molten Salts in Extreme Environments (MSEE)
    James Wishart, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Center for Actinide Science & Technology  (CAST)
    Thomas Albrecht-Schmitt, Florida State University
  • Center for Thermal Energy Transport under Irradiation (TETI)
    David Hurley, Idaho National Laboratory
  • Fundamental Understanding of Transport Under Reactor Extremes (FUTURE)
    Blas Uberuaga, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Energy Dissipation to Defect Evolution (EDDE)
    Yanwen Zhang, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Center for Performance and Design of Nuclear Waste Forms and Containers (WastePD)
    Gerald Frankel, Ohio State University
  • Interfacial Dynamics in Radioactive Environments and Materials (IDREAM)
    Sue Clark, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Center for Hierarchical Waste Form Materials (CHWM)
    Hans-Conrad zur Loye, University of South Carolina

jpg image, 39843 bytes

jpg image, 13562 bytes

  • Center for Understanding and Control of Acid Gas-Induced Evolution of Materials for Energy (UNCAGE-ME)
    Krista Walton, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Integrated Mesoscale Architectures For Sustainable Catalysis (IMASC)
    Cynthia Friend, Harvard University
  • Center for Light Energy Activated Redox Processes (LEAP)
    Michael Wasielewski, Northwestern University
  • Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis (CME)
    Morris Bullock, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Center for Lignocellulose Structure and Formation (CLSF)
    Daniel Cosgrove, Pennsylvania State University
  • Bioinspired Light-Escalated Chemistry (BioLEC)
    Gregory Scholes, Princeton University
  • Center for Gas Separations (CGS)
    Jeffrey Long, University of California, Berkeley
  • Catalysis Center for Energy Innovation (CCEI)
    Dionisios Vlachos, University of Delaware
  • Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center (ICDC)
    Laura Gagliardi, University of Minnesota
  • Alliance for Molecular PhotoElectrode Design for Solar Fuels (AMPED)
    Gerald Meyer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Biological Electron Transfer and Catalysis Center (BETCy)
    John Peters, Washington State University

Last modified: 9/25/2018 9:17:57 AM