The EFRC program commenced in 2009; 46 Centers were selected based on scientific peer review and funded at $2-5 million per year for a five-year initial award period. Altogether, the DOE Office of Science invested $777 million in the first five years, of which $277 million were from one-time American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) funds. An open recompetition of the program in 2014 resulted in four-year awards to 32 centers, 22 of which are renewals of existing EFRCs and 10 of which are new EFRCs. The non-renewing EFRCs appear in the History pages.

Years Lead Institution Director(s) Center Name
2009-2014 Argonne National Laboratory Christopher L. Marshall Institute for Atom-efficient Chemical Transformations (IACT)
2009-2014 Arizona State University Devens Gust Center for Bio-Inspired Solar Fuel Production (BISfuel)
2009-2014 Columbia University James Yardley Re-Defining Photovoltaic Efficiency Through Molecule Scale Control (RPEMSC)
2009-2014 Cornell University Hector D. Abruna Energy Materials Center at Cornell (emc2)
2009-2014 Donald Danforth Plant Science Center Richard Sayre (8/2009 - 9/2011); Jan Jaworski (10/2011 - 7/2014) Center for Advanced Biofuel Systems (CABS)
2009-2014 General Electric Global Research Grigorii Soloveichik Center for Electrocatalysis, Transport Phenomena and Materials for Innovative Energy Storage (CETM)
2009-2014 Idaho National Laboratory Dieter Wolf (9/2009 - 5/2010); Todd Allen (6/2010 - 7/2014) Center for Materials Science of Nuclear Fuel (CMSNF)
2009-2014 Los Alamos National Laboratory Michael Nastasi (8/2009 - 11/2011); Amit Misra (12/2011 - 7/2014) Center for Materials at Irradiation and Mechanical Extremes (CMIME)
2009-2014 Louisiana State University James Spivey Center for Atomic-Level Catalyst Design (CALCD)
2009-2014 Michigan State University Donald T. Morelli Revolutionary Materials for Solid State Energy Conversion (RMSSEC)
2009-2014 National Renewable Energy Laboratory Alex Zunger (8/2009 - 5/2011); William Tumas (6/2011 - 7/2014) Center for Inverse Design (CID)
2009-2014 Oak Ridge National Laboratory G. Malcolm Stocks Center for Defect Physics in Structural Materials (CDP)
2009-2014 Princeton University Chung K. Law Combustion Energy Frontier Research Center (CEFRC)
2009-2014 Sandia National Laboratories Jerry Simmons (8/2009 - 10/2011); Michael E. Coltrin (11/2011 - 7/2014) EFRC for Solid State Lighting Science (SSLS)
2009-2014 Stanford University Fritz Prinz and Stacey Bent Center on Nanostructuring for Efficient Energy Conversion (CNEEC)
2009-2014 University of Arizona Neal R. Armstrong Center for Interface Science: Solar Electric Materials (CISSEM)
2009-2014 University of California, Los Angeles Vidvuds Ozolins Molecularly Engineered Energy Materials (MEEM)
2009-2014 University of California, Santa Barbara John Bowers Center for Energy Efficient Materials (CEEM)
2009-2014 University of Massachusetts Thomas P. Russell and Paul Lahti Polymer-Based Materials for Harvesting Solar Energy (PHaSE)
2009-2014 University of Michigan Peter F. Green Center for Solar and Thermal Energy Conversion (CSTEC)
2009-2014 University of South Carolina Kenneth Reifsnider Heterogeneous Functional Materials Center (HeteroFoaM)
2009-2014 University of Southern California P. Daniel Dapkus Center for Energy Nanoscience (CEN)
2009-2014 University of Texas, Austin Paul Barbara (8/2009 - 10/2010); Xiaoyang Zhu (11/2010 - 5/2012); Peter Rossky (6/2012 - 7/2014) Understanding Charge Separation and Transfer at Interfaces in Energy Materials (CST)
2009-2014 University of Virginia T. Brent Gunnoe Center for Catalytic Hydrocarbon Functionalization (CCHF)
Last modified: 3/5/2016 8:04:05 PM