The U.S. Department of Energy's Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (DOE EPSCoR) is a federal-state partnership program designed to enhance the capabilities of designated states and territories to conduct sustainable and nationally competitive energy-related research. DOE EPSCoR addresses this mission by fostering competitions for scientific and engineering research in states and territories that have demonstrated a commitment to develop their research bases and to improve the quality of science and engineering research conducted at their universities and colleges. DOE EPSCoR has a strong science orientation but welcomes applications for research spanning the range of program offices and topical areas covered by the Department. While a strong academic component including the education of graduate students or training of post-doctoral fellows is required, industrial participation or leadership on grant applications is also welcome. Further details are available on the About EPSCoR page.

DOE EPSCoR currently follows the NSF EPSCoR RII eligibility criteriaExternal link. Thus twenty three states, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands are eligible to participate in the DOE EPSCoR program. [Note that New Mexico lost eligibility at the beginning of February 2018 and thus will not be eligible for EPSCoR funding in FOAs posted subsequent to that date.] Below please find a map a noting the eligible jurisdictions for DOE EPSCoR and links to their EPSCoR programs.

EPSCoR map 
Links to EPSCoR jurisdiction web sites
Last modified: 2/27/2018 10:16:15 AM