Edmund J Synakowski

Associate Director of Science for Fusion Energy Sciences

Edmund J. Synakowski


       Edmund J. Synakowski

Dr. Synakowski is the Associate Director of Science for Fusion Energy Sciences (FES) at the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The Office of Fusion Energy Sciences supports research to develop the scientific basis for fusion energy, and also serves as a leading steward for plasma science more broadly. With an annual budget of about $400M, the FES portfolio includes research at national laboratories, universities, and private industry.

Prior to joining FES in June of 2009, Dr. Synakowski served since January 2006 as the Fusion Energy Program (FEP) Leader and as the Deputy Division Leader At-Large of the Physics Division at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. Within the FEP, he led a broad portfolio of magnetic fusion energy science, high energy density physics, fusion technology, and beam research. He served on the Council of the U.S. Burning Plasma Organization and as a member of the Executive Committee of the Division of Plasma Physics of the American Physical Society (APS). He also has served on or led major programmatic reviews and advisory committees for many of the nation’s fusion energy sciences programs as well as for planning and review activities for ITER. He was the Chair of the U.S. Transport Task Force from 2000 to 2002.

Dr. Synakowski was at the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL) from 1988 through 2005, where he was Head of Research and Deputy Program Director of the National Spherical Torus Experiment. His research and group leadership on the Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor at PPPL in the 1990's was in cross-magnetic-field transport. He led some of the first detailed comparisons between measurements and turbulent transport theory in fusion reactor conditions, including the effects of sheared flows on turbulence and confinement, and made the only measurements to date of the creation and transport of helium ash in a laboratory fusion plasma. He shared the APS Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics in 2001 and Princeton University's Kaul Foundation Prize for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research and Technology Development in 2000. A Fellow of the APS and the Institute of Physics, he has authored over 150 refereed publications. He received his Ph.D. in physics at the University of Texas at Austin in 1988, performing his research on the Texas Experimental Tokamak (TEXT), and his Bachelor of Arts degree with Departmental Honors from the Johns Hopkins University, where he was awarded the Donald Kerr Memorial Medal for Excellence in Physics.

Contact Information

Dr. Edmund J. Synakowski
Associate Director of Science for Fusion Energy Sciences
SC-24/Germantown Building
U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20585-1290 
Phone: (301) 903-4941
Fax: (301) 903-8584

Last modified: 8/11/2017 7:31:41 AM