The Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (FESAC) has been Chartered.pdf file (266KB) pursuant to Section 14(a)(2)(A) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act Public Law 92-463, and Section 101-6.1015, title 41 Code of Federal Regulations. The committee provides independent advice to the Director of the Office of Science on complex scientific and technological issues that arise in the planning, implementation, and management of the fusion energy sciences program. The current charter is in effect until August 2017. 

Committee Members.pdf file (29KB) are drawn from universities, national laboratories, and industrial companies. Members serve three-year terms and may be reappointed to serve multiple terms. Because members are appointed as experts in specific fields, it is necessary for them to also be appointed as Special Government Employees, a role in which they serve whenever they are involved in FESAC business. Biographies.pdf file (84KB) of each member are available.

The Director of the Office of Science charges the committee to provide advice and recommendations on various issues of concern to the Fusion Energy Sciences program. The Committee conducts its business in public meetings, and submits reports containing its advice and recommendations to the Director of the Office of Science.

Notices of upcoming FESAC meetings are published in the Federal Register at least two weeks before the scheduled date of the meeting.

Dr. Donald Rej
Program Director
Office of Science Programs at LANL 
Los Alamos National Laboratory
(505) 665-1883
Designated Federal Officer
Edmund Synakowski
Associate Director of the Office of Science
for Fusion Energy Sciences
Administrative Staff
Ms. Sandy Newton
Office of Fusion Energy Sciences
FESAC Manager
Samuel J. Barish
Office of Fusion Energy Sciences
Last modified: 1/24/2017 9:22:27 AM