No (Brain)power Outage at a Competition Like No Other

Winners for the third week of the National Science Bowl have been determined. See the finalists, and return for future updates here:

Regional competitions for the Department of Energy's National Science Bowl are continuing. Thousands of middle- and high-school students are competing in 120 regional events all across the country, as well as Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Winners will earn a full-paid trips to the National Finals in D.C. on April 25-29th.

Seventeen new teams were named finalists this past weekend including:

High Schools:

  • Alma Bryant High School from Irvington, AL, winner of the Alabama High School Science Bowl;
  • Helena High School from Helena, MT, winner of the Big Sky High School Science Bowl;
  • Mountain View High School from Vancouver, WA, winner of the BPA High School Science Bowl;
  • The Illinois Math and Science Academy from Aurora, IL, won the Illinois High School Science Bowl;
  • Harrison High School from West Lafayette, IN, winner of the Indiana High School Science Bowl;
  • Pullman High School from Pullman, WA, won the Inland Northwest Regional Science Bowl;
  • University High School from Irvine, CA, winner of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory Los Angeles Regional Science Bowl;
  • Palo Alto High School from Palo Alto, CA, winner of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Regional High School Science Bowl;
  • The North Carolina School of Science and Math from Durham, NC, winner of the North Carolina High School Science Bowl;
  • Lincoln East High School from Lincoln, NE, winner of the Nebraska High School Science Bowl;
  • The Meadows School from Las Vegas, NV, winner of the Nevada High School Science Bowl;
  • Ridgeview Classical Schools from Fort Collins, IN, winner of the Rocky Mountain High School Science Bowl;
  • Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology from Alexandria, VA, winner of the Virginia High School Science Bowl; and
  • Parkersburg High School from Parkersburg, WV, winner of the West Virginia High School Science Bowl on Saturday

Middle Schools:

  • Will James Middle School from Billings, MT, winner of the Big Sky Middle School Science Bowl;
  • Edward Hurley Elementary School from Chicago, IL, winner of the Chicago Regional Middle School Science Bowl; and
  • The Blount Home Education Association from Maryville, TN, winner of the East Tennessee Middle School Science Bowl


Winners for the weekend of February 1-3 were:

High Schools:

  • Southside High School from Fort Smith, AR, winner of the Arkansas High School Science Bowl;
  • Huntington High School from Huntington, NY, winner of the Brookhaven National Laboratory/Long Island Regional High School Science Bowl;
  • Lakewood High School from Lakewood, CO, winner of the Colorado High School Science Bowl;
  • Maui High School from Kahului, HI, winner of the Hawaii High School Science Bowl;
  • Pleasant Valley High School from Bettendorf, IA, winner of the Iowa High School Science Bowl;
  • St. Paul Central High School from St. Paul, MN, winner of the Minnesota High School Science Bowl;
  • The Mississippi School for Math and Science from Columbus, MS, winner of the Mississippi High School Science Bowl;
  • Deer Creek High School from Edmond, OK, winner of the Oklahoma High School Science Bowl;
  • The Mission San Jose from Fremont, CA, winner of the Sandia National Laboratories/Las Positas High School Regional Science Bowl;
  • James Madison Memorial High School from Madison, WI, winner of the Wisconsin High School Science Bowl

Middle Schools:

  • Olde Middle School/Team Atom from Bellevue, WA, winner of the BPA Middle School Science Bowl;
  • Eagle Rock Junior High School from Los Angeles, CA, winner of the California State University Los Angeles (CSULA) Middle School Science Bowl;
  • The Alice Buffet Magnet Middle School from Omaha, NE, winner of the Nebraska Middle School Science Bowl


Winners for the weekend of January 25-27 were:

  • Rockville High School from Rockville, MD, the winner of the Maryland High School Science Bowl;
  • LISA Academy from Little Rock, AR, the winner of the Arkansas Middle School Science Bowl;
  • Wesleyan School from Norcross, GA, the winner of the Georgia Middle School Science Bowl;
  • Monte Cassino Middle School from Tulsa, OK, the winner of the Oklahoma Middle School Science Bowl

Regional competitions conclude the weekend of March 9th. So stay tuned to this site for updates on your favorite teams.

The Department's Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information please visit http://science.energy.gov/about. For more information about the National Science Bowl, please go to http://science.energy.gov/wdts/nsb/.

Last modified: 5/21/2013 12:05:15 PM