Department of Energy Announces Call for Nominations for the 2010 Enrico Fermi Award

dept of science logo

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Department of Energy announced a call for nominations for the 2010 Enrico Fermi Award. This Presidential Award is the oldest science and technology award given by the U.S. government, and one of the most prestigious. The Enrico Fermi Award is given to recognize excellence in science and technology and to show appreciation to scientists, engineers, and science policymakers.

The Enrico Fermi Award is bestowed by the President of the United States to an individual or individuals of international stature in recognition of exceptional scientific, technical, engineering, and/or management achievements related to the broad missions of the U.S. Department of Energy and its programs. Nominations are made via an electronic submission process at http://www.orau.gov/fermiExternal link. The deadline for submitting nominations is 11pm EDT on June 15, 2010.

A Fermi Award winner receives a citation signed by the President of the United States and the United States Secretary of Energy. The award winners also receive a solid gold medal bearing the likeness of Enrico Fermi and a $375,000 honorarium. In the event the award is given to more than one individual, the recipients share the honorarium equally.

The Department of Energy is the Nation’s leading supporter of the physical sciences, investing in research at DOE’s 17 world-class national laboratories, more than 300 universities, and numerous international research institutions. The Fermi Award is administered by the Department of Energy’s Office of Science.

For more information about the Enrico Fermi Award, visit: /fermi.

For a complete list of recipients, visit: /fermi/award-laureates

Last modified: 3/15/2013 5:06:38 PM