27 Teams Win Regional National Science Bowl Competitions, Secure Spots in National Finals in Washington, D.C.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz today announced that 27 teams of middle and high school students won their regional competitions for the 2014 National Science Bowl this past weekend and are advancing to the National Finals in Washington, D.C., in April.

“The National Science Bowl challenges students to excel and heightens their interest in fields vital to America’s continued scientific advancement,” Energy Secretary Moniz said. “Congratulations to these students for advancing to the National Finals. I wish them the best of luck in the competition.”

The National Science Bowl brings together thousands of middle and high school students from across the country to compete in a fast-paced question-and-answer format where they solve technical problems and answer questions on a range of science disciplines including biology, chemistry, Earth and space science, physics and math.

The teams that won their qualifying regional competitions this past weekend and are advancing to the National Finals are:

  • Arizona:
    • Desert Vista High School in Phoenix
  • California:
    • Mira Loma High School in Sacramento
    • Norris Middle School in Bakersfield
    • University Preparatory School in Redding (High School)
  • Colorado:
    • Fairview High School in Boulder
  • Connecticut:
    • E.O. Smith High School in Storrs
  • Georgia:
    • Lakeside High School in Evans
  • Illinois:
    • Franklin Fine Arts Center in Chicago (Middle School)
    • Next Generation School in Champaign (Middle School)
  • Kentucky:
    • Lone Oak Middle School in Paducah
  • Maine:
    • Maine School of Science and Mathematics in Limestone (High School)
  • Maryland:
    • Takoma Park Middle School in Silver Spring
  • Massachusetts:
    • Lexington High School in Lexington
  • Nevada:
    • Hyde Park Middle School in Las Vegas
  • New York:
    • Commack Middle School in Commack
    • Hunter College Middle School in New York City
    • Regis High School in New York City
    • Rensselaer STEP in Troy (High School)
    • Shenendehowa High School in Clifton Park
    • Van Antwerp Middle School in Niskayna
  • Puerto Rico:
    • Baldwin School of Puerto Rico in Guaynabo (High School)
  • South Carolina:
    • Fort Johnson Middle School in Charleston
  • South Dakota:
    • Rapid City Central High School in Rapid City
  • Texas:
    • Canyon Vista Middle School in Austin
    • Valle Verde Early College High School in El Paso
  • Virginia:
    • Longfellow Middle School in Falls Church
  • West Virginia:
    • Suncrest Middle School in Morgantown

A series of regional middle school and high school tournaments are being held across the country from January through March. Winners will advance to the National Science Bowl held from April 24-28 in Washington, D.C., for the final middle school and high school competitions.

The top 16 high school teams and the top eight middle school teams in the National Finals will win $1,000 for their schools’ science departments. Prizes for the top two high school teams for the 2014 National Science Bowl will be announced at a later date.

The high school team that won the 2013 National Science Bowl received a nine-day, all-expenses-paid science trip to Alaska, where they learned more about glaciology, marine and avian biology, geology and plate tectonics. The second-place high school team at the 2013 National Science Bowl won a five-day, fully guided adventure tour of several national parks, which included a whitewater rafting trip.

More than 225,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl since it was established in 1991, and it is one of the nation’s largest science competitions. Approximately 14,000 students competed in the National Science Bowl last year and more are expected to participate this year.

DOE’s Office of Science manages the National Science Bowl Finals competition. More information is available on the National Science Bowl website: http://science.energy.gov/wdts/nsb/.

Last modified: 11/10/2015 3:40:54 PM